23/1/11 Poem

A Restless Mind
A Sweaty Brow
An Aching Back
An Uneasy Sleep
A Rushing Day
Bills To Pay
You Sow and Sow
But Do Not Reap

A Pair Of Palms Full Of Blisters
A Pair Of Ears Deafened By Drills
A Pair Of Dreams Put On Hold
For What Are Dreams When We Have Bills?

A Pair Of Lungs Ruined By Smoke
A Pair Of Eyes With Half Dead Sight

The Very Same Eyes That Once Saw The World As An Oyster
Have Now Realized it's actually A Crab That Bites

A Small Cheque
A Months End
A Beer Or 6
A Pair Of Friends

A Bit Of Cancer

The End.

CAPITALISM WORKS
7 responses
"The Very Same Eyes That Once Saw The World As An Oyster
Have Now Realized it's actually A Crab That Bites"

Sad yet beautiful... thanks for sharing! x

A crab that bites is there to be cooked. I've still got a taste for seafood.
So true...
I hate how much debt I have. Rent is more than half of my income - it's ridiculous. And then the credits cards have me paying more than I owe. They are certainly reaping more than they sew. I'm just so sick of it. What kind of a life can I have when I can't make any financial progress? Sometimes I just want to move somewhere else where I can live off of the land and get away from this prison. It's so stifling.
A posthaven user upvoted this post.
you have a beautiful mind x
1 visitor upvoted this post.